Friday, 24 July 2009

Dyfed: Place in Bernard Cornwell's Saxon Series ****

The kingdom of dyfed

Map showing Dyfed, after the late 7th century, showing its seven cantrefi

The Kingdom of Dyfed was a sub-Roman and early medieval kingdom in south-west Wales.
Dyfed, or in its Latin form Demetia, was one of the ancient kingdoms of Wales prior to the Norman Conquest. It succeeded to the former Roman administrative civitas of the Demetae tribe. It is thought to originally have occupied the area bounded by the rivers Teifi, Gwili and Tywi, although it may have stretched as far as the Brycheiniog border. This included Pembrokeshire and the western part of Carmarthenshire including the town of Carmarthen. It consisted of at least seven cantrefi: Cemais, Deugleddyf, Emlyn, Cantref Gwarthaf, Pebidiog, Penfro and Rhos. Its area was about 2284 km2. During the 'Age of the Saints', Dyfed was said to have seven bishops: presumably one for each cantref. Later the kingdom expanded to additionally cover Ystrad Tywi, including Cydweli and Gwyr. This area was conquered by Ceredigion in the late 7th century to form the kingdom of Seisyllwg.
In the 10th century Hywel Dda united Dyfed and the neighbouring kingdom of Seisyllwg under his rule. The new kingdom became known as Deheubarth and covered an area roughly corresponding to the modern preserved county of Dyfed.

Williams, A. H., An Introduction to the History of Wales: Volume I: Prehistoric Times to 1063, UoWP, 1941, p 120

Post-Roman Welsh kingdoms. Dyfed is the promontory on the southwestern coast. The modern Anglo-Welsh border is also shown.

Dyfed county
Dyfed (Welsh pronunciation: [ˈdɪved]) is a preserved county of Wales.

Dyfed the County

Dyfed was created by the Local Government Act 1972 on 1 April 1974. It was formed from the administrative counties of Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and was divided into local government districts as so:
The Lord Lieutenant of Dyfed had previously been the Lord Lieutenant of Pembrokeshire, with the Lord Lieutenant of Cardiganshire and Lord Lieutenant of Carmarthenshire becoming Lieutenants. The Dyfed-Powys Police had been created a number of years earlier.
The Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 broke up Dyfed and restored the ancient counties for administrative purposes on 1 April 1996: Cardiganshire (the council of which renamed itself Ceredigion), Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. The name Dyfed was retained for purely ceremonial purposes such as Lieutenancy and is not used for geographical or postal purposes.

No comments:

Post a Comment